top of page

What is a tarot deck?

I have already mentioned the Star – which represents hope. The Sun indicates power. The Moon is

all about change and the ‘Death’ card is about endings, not necessarily about physical death.

The Tarot Deck is divided into the Major and Minor Arcana.

The Major Arcana

There are 22 cards in the Major Arcana. These ‘trump’ cards, made of major characters and life

themes, are numbered 0 to 21, usually in roman numerals. The numbers themselves contain

meanings that you may find reflect important numbers in your own life. They stretch across all

meaningful experiences and speak to individual character and personality.

Some of the Major Arcana cards will remind you of yourself, while others will cause you to recall

life events. Some may remind you of characters you’ve encountered in reality or in films and books.

As you peruse the Major Arcana, it is good to jot down notes. A few words written down to define

each card from your perspective are the start of a real connection with that card.

The Major Arcana contains all of life, so while there are human characters within it, such as The

Empress, The Hermit and The Magician, there are bigger subjects such as The World, The Star and

Death. These cards are like onions, with layers of meaning. You won’t be able to pierce that vast

depth straight away; you’re not supposed to. Aim to think of a handful of things that each card

makes you see/feel/recall/understand. The more time you spend with these big characters and

themes, the more you’ll discover about yourself.

As the ‘archetypes’ of human existence, they reflect all the roles that a person undertakes in life.

The Minor Arcana

The rest of the tarot deck is known as the Minor Arcana. These cards represent the gritty detail of

life – they really assist us in getting to grips with our life situation and the minutiae of our emotions,

actions and thoughts. They consist of four suits, each containing 14 cards and each representing a

different element.

The suits are: Wands (fire), Cups (water), Swords (air) and Pentacles – also known

as Coins in some decks (earth).

Each suit of the Minor Arcana has individual themes and qualities.

WANDS (batons) speak to us of growth, creativity, dreams and ambition. They also speak of the

fears and furrows that halt our creative endeavours. They are about the passion we need to

embrace, control and own as we navigate our way through life.

CUPS represent feelings and relationships. Some say they are the suit of love, but they are also the

suit of passion, hope, tears and fears.

SWORDS are representative of choice, decisions and the realm of thought. They are about

boundaries as they represent limitations. Swords speak to creating mental clarity and

fighting through difficulties towards truth.

PENTACLES (coins) represent abundance (or the lack of), money, work and the material world. They

show us our attitude towards work, and our ambitions and dreams for our careers. They offer

guidance on attracting and manifesting what we desire, and the work that this entails.

Would you like to read tarot intuitively and confidently for yourself and for others?

Learning to read Tarot will be one of the most transformational, life changing journeys you will ever experience.

Tarot can guide you in all areas of your life, career and business as well as your spiritual journey. It will give you guidance, insight and clarity to help you to move closer to your dreams.

Join me in my 6 week intuitive Tarot course where you will learn to read the cards intuitively and confidently. This 6 week course is live with me via Zoom and is only open to 10 people so be sure to book your space quickly before the spaces fill up.

7 views0 comments


Subscribe to get exclusive updates

Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page